Second time lucky for last years resolution.

When I first started this blog it was with the idea to practice my writing, putting it in the public domain and allowing others to read my story. I was overwhelmed with the response to my last post, I had some wonderful comments and to be honest, it scared me. For those who have not read it, I wrote about the upcoming release of the new Tracey Beaker book and my own experiences of being in care. It was the most personal thing I had ever shared publicly and afterward I wondered if I had anything else to say that others would want to hear. Since then, not much writing has gone on.

But with a new year, I thought it was time I tried again. My brain is full to bursting with ideas for stories, most of which I’m not ready to share with anyone. So I’m going to write about 2018. Last year was such a whirlwind of excitement and bookish love for me, and what better way is there to start the new year, than with two of my highlights of the previous year?

Last April I turned 30. Age doesn’t really mean much to me, but birthdays are a time to do something exciting. I spent the week of my birthday in Edinburgh. Diana Gabaldon wrote that the Scottish are natural born story tellers, which would explain why Edinburgh is a bibliophiles dream destination. The birth place of Harry Potter, it’s full of beautiful architecture that begs to be written about. It’s clear to see Rowling’s inspiration for scenes in Harry Potter. The entire city just oozes whimsical, magical inspiration. Although Harry Potter might be the most well known of bookish links to the city, its by no means the only one. 

The city has embraced it’s bookish charm and has an ever growing list of places to see and visit. In homage to Mary Shelley, there’s a themed bar called Frankenstein’s. From specialty cocktails to electric static charges, flashing lights and (some awful) karaoke, it’s any horror fans dream bar. The book, just like the monster, truly comes alive in this unique and impressive venue. 

Despite the excitement of every corner having some link to literature, the highlight of the trip was afternoon tea in The Signet Library. A 19th century building restored to perfection filled with books, was the most wonderful room to have afternoon tea in. The calmness that I’ve come to associate with any venue filled with books, encompasses you as you walk in. Down the centre of the room are dinning tables, surrounded by alcoves of books. We were in one of the alcoves and it took all of my restraint not to take a book off the shelf and read. Although the books surrounding us were about legal land owning (sadly these don’t feature on my TBR list), just being in the room with all those books was enough to inspire awe. 

After a wonderful week in Edinburgh, there wasn’t much I thought could top it. However in October, I got married. This was a wonderful day, preceded by the most amazing literary themed Hen-do. I could write about both for days. For now though, I want to focus on the dress. I have the privilege of having some incredibly talented and well read friends, one of which designed me the most perfect wedding dress. A 1950’s style dress in a ivory statin (with pockets, I do love a dress with pockets), it wouldn’t have looked out of place at a Jive. Except for one feature. The waist was made up of panels of material. Some of these panels contained the first pages of some of my favourite books, and they looped around the waist to meet in the middle at the back with a bow made of book pages. The books it contained were Throne of Glass, Sherlock Holmes, Jane Eyre, Little Women, Oryx and Crake and Harry Potter. 

My description probably doesn’t do it justice, so I’ll post a pic below. 

Reading is such a huge part of who I am and having those passages with me as I walked down the isle made me feel elated. My (now) husband has endless patience for my reading and it felt fitting to have books with me on my wedding day. I take a book with me wherever I go.

Having those books as part of my dress was just such a perfect way to get married. I am who I am because of those stories. I’ve become who I am because of those characters, because of the journeys I’ve been on. Sometimes you read a book that attaches it’s self to your soul and its there to stay, to become embedded in your heart, to comfort you when you’re sad and teach lessons without having to move from your armchair. Those stories and that dress bared my soul to my closest friends and family; to my fiancé. And “Reader, I married him”. 

Leave a comment