A bookworm reviews a book!

This week I launched a Facebook page specifically to share my blog, with the intention to reach more readers. Up until then I had only shared my blog with the Litsy community and a few choice people. To reach more readers, I had to invite people to to like the page. This was the scary part, so rather than think too much about it, I just started clicking “invite”.

I really didn’t need to worry. I’ve had some wonderfully nice comments from people, who enjoyed what they read. Some even said they couldn’t wait for more. Ace! However, this is the third time I’ve started to write something and I think the idea of having friends and family reading this, has made me feel under pressure.

I really wanted to write a review of a book that I absolutely love and finished re-reading this week. But I couldn’t find the words. Which is saddening, as I have a lot to say about it. But rather than give up, and in the spirit of what this blog is for, let’s be third time lucky!

Before I go into the book, I want to give fair warning. There will be spoilers, there will be swearing and the will most definitely be evidence that I’m a hopeless romantic – which I will be infatic about denying in person! Now that’s cleared up, let’s get to it.

North and South is a novel that was first published in 1885 over twenty episodes (yes that’s the right word, I checked) in a magazine called Household Words – thank you Wikipedia. It was and is described as a social novel, but I would say it’s a gritty romance dealing with social issues. I especially studied English literature at Chichester uni because it had a Victorian Women’s Writing module.

I love the Victorian era. It was revolutionary in so many ways, what with the suffragette movement, industrial revolution and increases in knowledge around science and medicine. Without the Victorian’s we wouldn’t be where we are now. Some times I feel I was born at the wrong time and should have been around in the Victorian era. Although I’m not sure I want to give up indoor plumbing, freedom to wear trousers and the internet. But they had some cool tea cups!

My English course was when I first discovered Elizabeth Gaskell, an author ahead of her time, dealing with social issues, gender and class being the most prominent. Gaskell was ahead not only in her views but having the balls to publish them.

North and South follows a young woman, Margaret, as she moves from the idyllic south to the smokey crowded north. Here she spends some time reminiscing about what’s she’s lost, struggling to like the people and basically being bored as shit because she has nothing to do. However as time goes on, she starts to befriend some cotton mill workers and learns about the politics of masters and “hands” (workers) and the potential for a strike. She then keeps giving her opinion, despite never having worked in her life, irritating her new friends and the scowling mill owner Mr Thornton.

Despite this, Mr Thornton falls in love with Margaret who refuses him (gasp! Horror!), because according to Mr Thornton’s doting mother “she has a too good opinion of her self”. But as a feminist, I have to agree with and respect Margaret’s choice. He then vows to not go out of his way to avoid her nor see her. Except he does both of these things.

However as the novel progresses Margaret starts to see the virtues of the north and its people. Probably because everyone around her dies, and after losing both parents and her best friend, everything else looks good. When Margret’s mother dies, her brother comes over from Spain but there’s an issue with the law so it’s kept a secret. When saying goodbye at the railway station they’re seen embracing by Mr Thornton who assumes the brother is a lover (uh-oh)! This puts Mr Thornton in a foul mood and he sulks (remember he’s in love with her), especially when Margaret denies being there to a police officer. But hey, every character has their flaws.

It’s the thought of Mr Thornton’s bad opinion of her that makes Margaret see him for who he really is. A top notch bloke with a great work ethic and a kind heart. But then Margaret’s dad dies suddenly and she’s whisked away by a pompous aunt. This is the point where both could have saved a hell of a lot of trouble if they just fucking said WHAT THEY FEEL! But we’re in the 1880’s and people were much more reserved. Eventually Mr Thornton loses his mill, an after affect of the strike and randomly bumps into Margaret at a dinner party – and this is the best bit – Margaret saves his sorry ass by lending him the money to get his mill up and running! Oh and they agree to marry.

Well that’s an extensive plot summary! But here’s why I love this book. Margaret isn’t consumed with the need to get a husband, she in fact rejects two proposals of marriage, before accepting the third. And she only accepts this after she’s known Mr Thornton for two years. Bloody smart if you ask me! Unlike so many books of the time and in general, Gaskell gives her protagonist more ambition in life.

Another reason I love the book is that we get to see both sides of life. We’re introduced to the harshness of life as a poor person working in the mills through Margaret. She acts as a go between for the masters of the mills and the workers. She does this for the reader and by speaking on behalf of both to the other. She’s a social warrior who, albeit naive at first, advocates the importance of fair wages. I like that Margaret is like her author, she sees value in everyone despite gender or class.

I love that romance doesn’t take the spotlight, but yet it’s there and feels real. It’s still relevant a 130 years later. I love that everyone gets a voice. I love that the characters learn and develop to the benefit of themselves and others. And I especially love that Margaret agrees to marry Mr Thornton- who surely we can now call John?

Feel free to follow my page https://m.facebook.com/bookwormbobbie/ feedback is greatly encouraged.

Leave a comment